Dkcurious

The meaning of a handshake and a wink?

I was at a party recently with a group of neighbors. One of the women looked at me on and off all night, even when she was next to her husband. I shared some friendly conversation with both of them. At the end of the evening, the husband shook my hand and gave me a quick wink. I am not too experienced in swinging. Is this a know, explicit sign to let me know they are interested in me? Thanks in advance for any input 

• Confused 1

Did you look for any outward signs suggesting they are swingers? Black rings on the ring finger of their right hand, anklets ot necklaces with certain charms on them?

As the husband in a couple who has picked up single men at parties, I can assure you we're out there. But then again, sometimes a smile and a wink is just a smile and a wink.

• Like 2
  • Haha 1

As far as I know, this was not an explicit sign of wanting to swing of you. A little tenuous, I think.

But it might indicate interest. Give them a call or text, letting them know you enjoyed talking to them at the party, and that you'd love to get together with them soon. 

There are at least two differences between the vanilla world and the LS world. 

1. "Handshake and wink..."  In the vanilla world, people like ambiguity and leading others on.  In the LS world, authenticity and candor are prized.  At an LS gathering, the response could well be, "Why thank you! Would you like to {find somewhere quieter to continue this conversation?|have us call you?|plan to get together later this week?| etc.}  Still, there is a possibility of miscommunication or misinterpretation that might lead to...