• Please Visit Our Sponsor

  • Book & Movie Reviews RSS Feed

    by Published on 02-27-2013 03:34 PM

    How to Work a Room is NOT a swinger book, but you may find more info in this book to help you improve your swinging than you will in most any swinger book. It is a must read and a life-saver for anyone who admits to even the slightest bit of shyness, trepidation or fear of entering rooms full of strangers ... even moreso if you have any hopes of actually talking to said strangers.

    93% of people admit to some level of shyness - from the introduction.

    The first chapters go into the 5 Roadblocks to socializing in a room full of strangers and then how to overcome said roadblocks. Who would think that the good advice of our mother "don't talk to strangers" would still be ringing around in the back of our subconscious, but it is!
    ...
    by Published on 02-27-2013 03:02 PM

    The Ethical Slut: A Guide to Infinite Sexual Possibilities
    Dossie Easton and Catherine A. Liszt
    ISBN 1-890159-01-8

    This book is an easy-to-read treatment of alternative sexual relationships and would highly recommend it to someone questioning traditional relationships or seeking guidance as to the care and feeding of such relationships or who just wants a good basic book on polyamory and open relationships. Much of the advice, especially communication and boundaries, is applicable to anyone in a relationship, vanilla or otherwise. It would a good foundation book to one's alternative sexual lifestyles library.

    The authors define "slut" as "a person of any gender who has the courage to lead life according to the radical proposition that sex is nice and pleasure is good for you" and segues their reclaiming of the word "slut"as a positive, gender-neutral word into practical discussion as to handling multiple sexual relationships in a ethical manner.
    ...
    by Published on 02-27-2013 02:58 PM  Number of Views: 1095 

    Read the book "Why women have sex"?

    First of all I am not a book promoter but I was in the bookstore the other day and of course the title caught my eye. I picked it up, put it down...later at home I read some reviews and decided I have to buy this book.

    I'm almost done and at this point I think its a "must read" for any man today, especially if you are in the "lifestyle" alone or with your wife.
    ...
    by Published on 02-27-2013 02:55 PM

    Reading this book makes me sad to think that Sue is no longer with us and can no longer provide the wonderful example she was to all those in the lifestyle. Sue and her husband, Ron, ran one of the most well-known clubs and conventions in the country for many years. In addition, she often spoke at other lifestyle conventions and was a regular contributor to several swinger magazines. I'm not sure but I got the feeling reading this book that many of the chapters may have originally been articles that she wrote for the various magazines compiled with other info to make a really good book.

    Sue was known as the "Swing Mom" and the advice she gives in this book is just as down to earth as any good mom would ever give. Her advice is very real and honest, it's not the fluff that many books give you but the straight facts with good information thrown in. Despite over 20 years of experience in the lifestyle and running in her club she never comes off as pretentious or as if her way of swinging is the only way or the better way.
    ...
    by Published on 02-27-2013 02:45 PM

    I was convinced I would hate this book based on the title. I think it's because of how turned off I get when I see the question "How do I Convince (or get) My Wife to Swing". You can't convince someone to do something they don't want to do, and the idea that someone would try really bothers me.

    However, this book is actually pretty good. It is written by women, from a woman's point of view directed at men who are interested in swinging but don't know how to bring it up to their wives.

    The one disappointment I had with the book is that I didn't feel it spent enough time early on in establishing that a couple must have a very strong relationship and good communication before anyone considers bringing up the topic. Instead it jumps right into telling you that your desires are normal and that your wife has fantasies too. The book explains to men the questions they need to be able to answer for themselves, as well as their wives, before they ever bring up the topic. From there it goes into explaining why women typically think differently about sex than men do. After that it jumps right into the discussion on how to move forward in your plan to "Get Your Wife to Swing".
    ...
    by Published on 02-27-2013 02:34 PM

    This book was originally written in 1976 and revised in 2001. According to the introduction the book is about swinging as it relates to group sex (sex parties). Personally, I wish they'd spent more of the book on just that, and less on a lot of other things.

    Too much of the book was, in my opinion, useless or outdated. Too often it seemed that the authors tried to sound over-educated and parts of the book came off too scientific and, in turn, too negative.

    While the book was revised in 2001, I'm not sure how much revision was actually done. The authors still focus their discussion on ad writing to doing so for contact magazines and pretty much state that they find little to no use with the online swinger sites (even though at that point they've already set up their own to promote the book).
    ...
    by Published on 02-27-2013 02:27 PM

    If this is the first introduction for someone to the lifestyle I would think many would run screaming, I'm amazed to see the positive reviews this book has on Amazon... but then again most of those are from people with no experience in the lifestyle and this book as truly their ...
    by Published on 02-27-2013 02:19 PM

    This was the first (and for many years the only) book I read on swinging. I read it when it first came out and ever since had remembered it having some great advice for newbies. I was a newbie myself when I read it.

    I just read it again and overall my opinion has not changed I would still highly recommend this book. It has some great information and Patti has shared much of herself in this book in an often humorous way. There are interviews with other swingers as well as her own stories of how she got started in swinging, and even how she became the Editor of the largest swinger contact magazine around. This is not a long book and will probably take you less than an hour to read all the way through.

    The magazine (Connection Magazine) is no longer around in magazine form and unfortunately much of what was included in the book back in 1997 is no longer current either. However, much of it is. Out of 15 chapters only 3 have become outdated over the years since the book was written. Chapter 10 on Conventions, Campouts and Trips starts out talking about the LSO convention (which unfortunately is no more), it also includes several other events that no longer exist. However, it has great information about going to conventions and such overall, so it's still worth a skim. Chapter 11: "How to Connect with other Swing Partners" is primarily devoted to contact magazines. And Chapter 14 is a listing of Swing Clubs and Organizations. Much like Chapter 10, much of it is outdated and many of the current clubs are not included in the list.
    ...


    Page 2 of 2 1 2
About us
The Swingers Board is an online swinging community with something for everyone. Experienced swingers and those just curious about the swinging lifestyle are all welcome. We invite you to participate in the discussion forums, member blogs, swinger stories, member photo galleries, swinger club listings and reviews, and all other areas of the site.


This site is run by a real swinger couple with the assistance of a great team of forum moderators who are also swingers. This site is free, and membership is open to all legal adults. While guests are able to view much of the site, registering will allow you access to all areas and full privileges.


Safe, sane, funny, smart, sexy - become a member and experience the Swingers Board!

Links
SwingLifeStyle Where REAL Swingers Meet

SwingTowns - It's Different @swingTowns

SDC SwingersDateClub for couples

SwingingLocal Free Local Swingers Profiles

Kasidie Sexually social

Adult FriendFinder Find Adult Sex and Friends

Wicked Temptations Wickedly Sexy Clothing

Swingers Board
Subscribe to our newsletter!