2shy2try

Advice wanted: Lost intimacy in our sex life

My hubby and I have been swinging for 5 years. In the beginning swinging was in addition to our personal sex life. Now, it seems, that unless there is a 3rd or 4th or more-some, or, at the very least - non-stop talk of a 3 or more-some - our personal intimate sex life does not take place. Do other couples experience this same situation?? Does swinging become the "determinator" for any kind of intimate contact/alone/romantic love making session with your spouse?? Does one-on-one with the one you love happen less and less?? Just wondering how/if swinging has affected other relationships the same?

I am truly sorry to hear that your personal love life has become nonexistent, for us swinging is like foreplay, we enjoy the company of others but still enjoy our personal time.

The Mrs and I make love 3 to 4 times a week and swinging is only a few times a month as we have time.

• Confused 1

No, it has not happened to us, but we have been swinging less than two years.

It is something I thought about, but more from the perspective similar to an adrenaline junkie. It occurred to me early on that just like extreme sports it could eventually mean "upping the ante" in order to get the same rush. It has not happened but we try to mix things up in our personal life so we keep thing fresh between us.

Not to mention, the romance is only between us. Sure we get intimate with our partners, but romance is about much more than sex.

It is great to have 3, 4 or more involved, but if you don't get into a rut as a twosome I think you can avoid the "need" to "up the ante" so to speak. Keeping the romance at a high level will help enormously.

It might be that you two need to take a break from swinging and "rediscover" each other a bit for a while, rekindle the romance AND the steamy sex side as well.